top of page

Week 3&4 Material + Finish

Looking at both the mushbots and the fungus folks together I think I can finish them in a way that they all look a part of the same collection.


I plan to make at least one Mushbot so that I can do a finish similar to the fungus folks, but also one painted to appear like a robot.


3D Printed versions :

(Insert Photo)


I want to build on my mold making from last semester, I think I learned some crucial things that will make these go smoother. So with the 3D printed models I will produce silicon molds. However this time I'm interested in exploring bioplastics as an option:


Mycelium - Mycelium makes sense as a medium because of it's durability and its relation to mushroom growth. I have acquired almost all the materials to try this with the molds.


Potato - I want to try potato because it seems accessible, I'm interested in it's textural finish, and since they biodegrade the quickest, I think it would be cool to make small fungus folks out of them that are temporal, and are meant to be added to compost (just an idea)


Resin + Dye - Finish ( I have the resin and dye materials and want to produce one to make a comparison)


(Insert Mold Process)


Finish Options:

  • Colorant/Dye in Material

  • Plain Polished/Sanded Material

  • Acrylic Paint

  • Some form of Flocking with organic material (think of something to make toys stink)






bottom of page