top of page

Initial Ideation Art Toy 2022 (#Week 1)

Recap /Reflections Art Toy 2021


I'm taking Art Toy for the 2nd time now! I am excited to build on what I learned last year. Last year I came in with 3D models of characters from my world-building project IQON. I improved my understanding of cad and preparing more complicated models for 3D printing. Some of the things I set out to do with these toys were have heads that could be exchanged, as well as making many copies from resin. The resin process was a lesson in mold making for me, that I'm planning to return to this year.


2022 Plan

This year I want to figure out the final product as I go. Leaning into what I saw as failures last year, I want to have a process that can create different variations of my toy that might not be perfect but is okay. I also want to make sure I get to the finishing stage this time around.


I saw through an NYU e-mail that there is currently an Adobe Substances Challenge to create a cute robot, and to document the process, and use at least one of the three substance applications to do such (Due Nov 25th). This got me thinking, it would be interesting to submit my art toy to this challenge.


Inspired by someone in Art Toy 2021 who scanned a molded sculpture and made copies, I am interested in exploring this as an option. I am skilled in 3D modeling, but I am interested in exploring this method stylistically, and possibly trying KitBashing with real toys and parts to get inspiration for the final model.


The idea I have been thinking about for a toy is some kind of anthropomorphic mushroom characters, possibly robotic.


Moodboard of images created from drawings and text to image AI






Recent Posts

See All

Week 3&4 Material + Finish

Looking at both the mushbots and the fungus folks together I think I can finish them in a way that they all look a part of the same collection. I plan to make at least one Mushbot so that I can do a f

bottom of page